Print Friendly

Diocesan Diary 2017

January 1 Sunday

Mary, The Holy Mother of God

World Day of Prayer for Peace Mass will take place at 11 a.m. in the Church of St. Teresa, Clarendon Street.

Theme: Non-Violence: A Style of Politics for Peace

 

January 15 Sunday

World Day of Migrants and Refugees

 

January 18-25 Wednesday – Wednesday

Week of Prayer for Christian Unity.

Inaugural Service: Church of Ireland, Taney Road, Dundrum at 8 p.m. on Wednesday, 18th January.

Theme: Crossing Barriers: Reconciliation – the love of Christ compels us

(2 Corinthians 5:14-20)

 

January 29 – February 4 Sunday – Saturday

Catholic Schools Week

Theme: Catholic Schools: Learning with Pope

Francis to care for our Common Home

 

January 31 TuesdayLaudate Festival for Primary Schools, Our Lady of Victories, Ballymun Road, 7.30pm

February 1 Wednesday – Laudate Festival for Primary Schools, St. Laurence O’ Toole, Kilmacud, 7.30pm

 

February 2 Thursday – The Presentation of the Lord World Day for Consecrated Life

 

February 11 Saturday – Our Lady of Lourdes

World Day of the Sick Seminar

 

February 12 Sunday World Day of the Sick

 

World Day of the Sick: Celebration of the 25th Anniversary with Mass and Anointing of the

Sick in St. Gabriel’s Church, Dollymount at 3.00 p.m. celebrating the International World Day of the Sick (Saturday, 11th February).

 

February 19 Sunday

ACCORD DUBLIN (Catholic Marriage Care Service) Collection* – proceeds to be returned to the Director, ACCORD, Holy Cross Diocesan Centre, Clonliffe Road, Dublin D03 P2E7.

 

February 26 Sunday Day of Prayer for Temperance

 

March 5 First Sunday of Lent

Rite of Election at 3.30 p.m. in the Pro Cathedral: Adults going through the RCIA faith journey, deemed by their parishes as ready to receive Christian initiation this Easter, are presented to the Archbishop.

 

March 6 Monday Deanery Meetings during the week

 

 

March 17 Friday – St. Patrick, Bishop, Principal Patron of Ireland

Day of Prayer for Emigrants Chapter Meeting in the Pro Cathedral

 

March 19 Sunday

CROSSCARE Youth Services Collection* – proceeds to be returned to the:

Director, CROSSCARE, Holy Cross Diocesan Centre, Clonliffe Road, Dublin D03 P2E7.

 

April 13 Holy Thursday

Mass of Chrism at 10.00 a.m. in the Pro Cathedral. Distribution of the Holy Oils in the

Pro Cathedral immediately afterwards and up until 1.00 p.m.

 

April 30 Sunday Share Appeal Sunday

 

May 7 Sunday Day of Prayer for Vocations

 

May 7 Sunday Collection for the support of Dublin Diocesan Students preparing for Ordination to the Priesthood.*

Proceeds to be returned to the Financial Administrator, Archbishop’s House, Lower Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 H4C2.

 

May 8 Monday Deanery Meetings during the week

 

May 21 Sunday Diocesan Pilgrimage to Knock

 

May 28 Sunday World Communications Day

 

June 3 Saturday – St. Kevin, Abbot Chapter Mass in the Pro Cathedral

 

June 4 Pentecost Sunday Festival of Peoples

 

June 18 – 22 Sunday- Thursday Diocesan Retreat

 

June 25 Sunday Matt Talbot Day

 

July 2 Sunday Collection for the Pope and Pontifical Charities* (Peter’s Pence) – proceeds to be returned to the Financial Administrator, Archbishop’s House, Lower Drumcondra  Road, Dublin D09 H4C2.

 

September 1 Friday Day of Prayer for Creation

 

September 7-12 Thursday – Tuesday Dublin Diocesan Pilgrimage to Lourdes

 

September 17 Sunday CROSSCARE Community and Homeless

Services Collection* – proceeds to be returned to the Director, CROSSCARE, Holy Cross Diocesan Centre, Clonliffe Road, Dublin D03 P2E7.

 

September 24 Sunday Diocesan Safeguarding Day

 

October 1 Sunday Day for Life

 

October 2 Monday Deanery Meetings during the week

 

October 22 Mission Sunday Day for Missions

* Proceeds to be returned to the National Director, Pontifical Mission Societies, 64 Lower Rathmines Road, Dublin D06 N2H1.

 

November 11 Saturday Commemorative Mass for deceased Clergy of the diocese at 11.00 a.m. in the

Pro Cathedral, Marlborough Street, Dublin 1.

 

November 12 Sunday Prisoners’ Sunday

 

November 14 Tuesday St. Laurence O’Toole, Bishop

Chapter Mass in the Pro Cathedral

 

November 19 Sunday World Day for the Poor

 

December 2 Sunday Diocesan Advent Service

 

December 4 Monday Deanery Meetings during the week

 

December 8 Friday – The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary Chapter Meeting in the Pro Cathedral

 

December 10 Sunday Diocesan Collection for the Dublin Council of the Society of St. Vincent de Paul* – proceeds to be returned to the President, Dublin Council, Society of St. Vincent de Paul, 8 New Cabra Road, Dublin D07 T1W2.