Pope John Paul II Awards Ceremony

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Pope John Paul II Awards Ceremony

Tuesday 24th April 2018 at St Paul’s Church, Arran Quay

On Tuesday 24th April, the Archdiocese of Dublin congratulated 82 amazing young people who each received their Pope John Paul II Award.  The awards are dedicated to the memory of St Pope John Paul II, who showed a great love and confidence in young people.  Christian leadership and service in the community are at the heart of what the awards are about.

The commitment and dedication from this year’s young people has been simply outstanding and has made them inspiring role models to those they serve in their parishes.  We wish to congratulate all those who received awards on the night in St Paul’s Church, Arran Quay.  We also wish to thank their leaders for their hard work to help those participating in the JPII Awards achieve their goals.

Very Rev. Kieran McDermott, Episcopal Vicar for Evangelisation and Ecumenism, presented the awards to 82 young recipients from 12 parishes and schools working together throughout the diocese.  31 young people reached the accolade of the gold award, 15 reached the accolade of silver and 30 received the bronze award.  Six young people received the Papal Cross Award.

Eric Hughes was our guest speaker and musician for the ceremony, witnessing to his relationship with God and encouraging us not to compare ourselves to one another.  Rather we need to realise that we are purposefully made with our own unique gifts to share – with God we are enough!


Our Lady of Mercy Parish, Drimnagh with the Parish of Our Lady of Good Counsel, Mourne Road

On Tuesday evening the Archdiocese of Dublin held the annual Pope John Paul II Awards for young people from different schools & parishes.  Pic: Award winners shown in St Paul’s Church, Arran Quay in Dublin.

Bronze Award
Dayo Adeshina
Benedict Atanacio
Jessica Burke
Seán Kelly
Adrian Costea
Nathan Daly
Emma Donegan
Siobhán Doyle
Shane Duffy
Vladlena Gilca
Karl Greer
Mark Hudson
Henrijs Kalins
Caitlin Maher
Jack McGaughran Ryan
Sean McKay
Anthony O’Neill
Jake Parker

Silver Award
Ciara Cuffe
Nikola Dabrowska
Naomi Dempsey
Elizabeth Dunne
Lia Farrelly
Leah Harrison
Jade Kirwan
Oisin McBride
Caoimhín McKay
Charli Redmond
Xavier Santos
Sorcha Twamley

Award Leader
Michael Jenkins

St Louis High School, Rathmines, with Rathmines Parish

Gold Award
Luiza Bardan
Sarah Conway
Inshiya Kagalwala

Papal Cross Award
Ciara Kavanagh
Aoife Murphy
Aria Somers

Award Leader
Avril Doyle

Holy Rosary Church, Parish of Bohernabreena

Gold Award
Erin Brown
Sarah Connaughton
Ben Kearney
Antonina O’Dwyer Papp

Award Leader
Deborah Brown

Holy Child Killiney with the Parishes of St Brigid’s, Cabinteely, Church of Our Lady of Perpetual Succour and St Anne’s, Shankill

Gold Award
Emily Day
Jenny McKeever
Lydia Reilly

Award Leader
Ellen Moiselle

Ballyfermot Assumption Parish

Bronze Award
Sarah Louise Bellamy
Lyn Carey

Award Leader
Jane Mellett

Celbridge and Straffan Parishes with St Wolstan’s Secondary School

Bronze Award
Caroline Brennan
Sarah Lucas
Orla Marsh
Kelly-Jade McElroy
Lucy McMahen
Ciara McSweeney
Rachel Molloy
Lauren Mullarkey
Aoibhinn Phelan
Ciara Wall

Silver Award
Emma Cullen
Muireann Duggan
Grace Mimnagh

Gold Award
Irina Egan
Michelle O’Dwyer
Shauna Warren

Papal Cross Award
Jessica McMahon

Award Leaders
Fr. Kevin Doherty and Nigel Kerrigan

Colaiste Éanna with Ballyroan Parish

Gold Award
Eoin Bradley
Joey Donohoe
Kelvyn Fields
Killian Morris
Sam Stevenson
Nikodem Szmaj
Dara Ward
Matthew Whelan

Award Leader
Alan Sterling and Patrick Carey

Sts. Peter and Mary’s Parish Arklow

Gold Award
Conor Cronin
Ciarán Deay

Papal Cross Award
Cathal Condren
Éireann O’Sullivan

Award Leader
Murt O’Sullivan

Queen of Peace, Bray

Gold Award
Claire Ahern
Alanna Stanley

Award Leader
Donal Murray

Parishes of The Most Precious Blood, Cabra West & Our Lady Help of Christians, Navan Road, with St Declan’s College & St Dominic’s College

Gold Award
Daisy O’Connor
Justine Eludo
Tazmin McDonnell
Irene Oka
Natalia Szumlanska

Award Leader
Oliver Burns & Natasha Geoghegan and Kevin Mullally

Parish of Blessed Margaret Ball, Santry

Gold Award
Caitríona Murray

Award Leader
Patricia Seery