Diocesan Diary 2019

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

 

Diocesan Diary 2019

January 1 Tuesday

Mary, The Holy Mother of God

World Day of Peace Mass will take place at 11.00 a.m. in the Church of Our Lady Queen of Peace, Merrion Road.

Theme: Good politics is at the service of peace.

 

January 18 – 25 Friday – Friday

Week of Prayer for Christian Unity.

Inaugural Service: Church of St. John the Baptist, Church of Ireland, Seafield Road West,

Clontarf, at 8 p.m. on Friday, 18th January.

Theme:  “Only Justice” (Deut 16:18-20)

 

January 20 Sunday

World Day of Migrants and Refugees

 

January 27 – February 2 Sunday – Saturday

Catholic Schools Week

Theme: “Catholic Schools – Celebrating the Work of Our Own Catholic School”

 

February 2 Saturday

The Diocesan Celebration to mark World Day for Consecrated Life will take place in the Church of the Guardian Angels, Newtownpark Avenue, Blackrock at 3.00 p.m.

 

February 9 Saturday

World Day of the Sick Seminar

Venue: All Hallows College / Time: 9.30 a.m. – 12.45 p.m.

Theme: Community struggling with drug addiction

 

February 10 Sunday

World Day of the Sick: Celebration of the 27th anniversary with Mass and Anointing of the Sick in Corpus Christi Church, Drumcondra at 3 p.m. celebrating the International World Day of the Sick.

 

February 17 Sunday

ACCORD DUBLIN (Catholic Marriage Care Service) Collection* – proceeds to be returned to the Director, ACCORD, Holy Cross Diocesan Centre, Clonliffe Road, Dublin D03 P2E7.

 

March 3 Sunday

Day of Prayer for Temperance

 

March 4 Monday

Deanery Meetings during the week

 

March 10 Sunday

Rite of Election at 3.30 p.m. in the Pro Cathedral:

Adults going through the RCIA faith journey, deemed by their parishes as ready to receive Christian initiation this Easter, are presented to the Archbishop.

 

March 17 Sunday

St. Patrick, Bishop, Principal Patron of Ireland

Day of Prayer for Emigrants

Chapter Mass in the Pro Cathedral at 11.00 a.m.

 

April 18 Holy Thursday

Mass of Chrism at 10.30 a.m. in the Pro Cathedral.  Distribution of the Holy Oils in the Pro Cathedral immediately afterwards and up until 1 p.m.

 

April 27 Saturday

Diocesan Pilgrimage to Knock

Knock 1879-2019: Celebrating 140 years of our National Marian Shrine. Our Dublin Diocesan Pilgrimage to Knock, to be led by His Grace Archbishop Diarmuid Martin, will take place on Saturday 27th April 2019.  For queries, email: knockpilgrimage@dublindiocese.ie

 

May 5 Sunday

Share Appeal Sunday

 

May 12 Sunday

Day of Prayer for Vocations

Collection for the support of Dublin diocesan students preparing for Ordination to the Priesthood.*  Proceeds to be returned to the Finance Secretariat, Archbishop’s House, Lower Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 H4C2.

 

May 13 Monday

Deanery Meetings during the week

 

June 2 Sunday

The Ascension of the Lord

World Communications Day

Theme:   “We are members one of another” (Eph 4, 25).

From network community to human communities.

 

June 3 Monday

Chapter Mass in the Pro Cathedral at 10.30 a.m.

 

June 16 – 20 Sunday – Thursday

Diocesan Retreat

 

June 30 Sunday

Matt Talbot Day

 

June 30 Sunday

Collection for the Pope and Pontifical Charities* (Peter’s Pence) – proceeds to be returned to the Finance Secretariat, Archbishop’s House, Lower Drumcondra Road, Dublin D09 H4C2.

 

September 1 Sunday

World Day of Prayer for the Care of Creation

CROSSCARE Collection – Proceeds to be returned to the Director, CROSSCARE, Holy Cross Diocesan Centre, Clonliffe Road, Dublin D03 P2E7.

 

September 4 – 9 Wednesday – Monday

Dublin Diocesan Pilgrimage to Lourdes

 

September 22 Sunday

Diocesan Safeguarding Day

 

October 6 Sunday

Day for Life

 

October 7 Monday

Deanery Meetings during the week

 

October 20 Mission Sunday

Day for Missions* – proceeds to be returned to the National Director, Pontifical Mission Societies, 64 Lower Rathmines Road, Dublin D06 N2H1.

 

November 9 Saturday

Commemorative Mass for deceased Clergy of the diocese at 10.30 a.m. in the Pro Cathedral, Marlboro Street.

 

November 10 Sunday

Prisoners’ Sunday

 

November 14 Thursday

St. Laurence O’Toole, Bishop

Chapter Mass in the Pro Cathedral at 10.30 a.m.

 

November 17 Sunday

World Day of the Poor

 

December 2 Monday

Deanery Meetings during the week

 

December 8 Sunday

Diocesan Collection for the Dublin Council of the Society of St. Vincent de Paul* – proceeds to be returned to Regional Co-ordinator, Society of St. Vincent de Paul, 91-92 Sean McDermott Street, Dublin D01 WV38

 

December 9 Monday

The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Chapter Mass in the Pro Cathedral at 10.30 a.m.